Tuesday, October 21, 2014

There Will Come a Time

There Will Come a Time
Carrie Arcos
Fiction Ar27t

 Mark grapples with the loss of his twin sister in this heart-wrenching novel of grief and resilience from National Book Award finalist Carrie Arcos.

Mark knows grief. Ever since the accident that killed his twin sister, Grace, the only time he feels at peace is when he visits the bridge on which she died. Comfort is fleeting, but it’s almost within reach when he’s standing on the wrong side of the suicide bars. Almost.

Grace’s best friend, Hanna, says she understands what he’s going through. But she doesn’t. She can’t. It’s not just the enormity of his loss. As her twin, Mark should have known Grace as well as he knows himself. Yet when he reads her journal, it’s as if he didn’t know her at all.

As a way to remember Grace, Hanna convinces Mark to complete Grace’s bucket list from her journal. Mark’s sadness, anger, and his growing feelings for Hanna threaten to overwhelm him. But Mark can’t back out. He made a promise to honor Grace—and it’s his one chance to set things right.

(From publisher.)

One Past Midnight

One Past Midnight
Jessica Shirvington
Fiction Sh67o

Sabine isn’t like anyone else. For as long as she can remember, she’s had two lives. Every twenty-four hours she ‘Shifts’, living each day twice. In one life, Sabine has everything: popular friends, expensive clothes, perfect grades, and the guy everyone wants. In the other, Sabine’s family struggles with finances, and she and her friends are considered rebels. But then she meets Ethan. He’s gorgeous, challenging, and he makes her feel like no one ever has before.
 
All Sabine really wants is the chance to live one life. When it seems like this might finally be possible, Sabine begins a series of dangerous experiments to achieve her goal. But is she willing to risk everything—including the one person who might actually believe her?

(From publisher.)

Between the Spark and the Burn

Between the Spark and the Burn
April Genevieve Tucholke
Fiction T79be
  
The conclusion to Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, this gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and Daphne du Maurier is a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Freddie once told me that the Devil created all the fear in the world.
But then, the Devil once told me that it's easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.  The problem with River West Redding was that he'd done both to me.


The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet's life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River's other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn't long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .

(From Amazon.)

Nil

Nil
Lynne Matson
Fiction M42n

On the mysterious island of Nil, the rules are set. You have exactly 365 days to escape—or you die.

Seventeen-year-old Charley doesn’t know the rules. She doesn’t even know where she is. The last thing she remembers is blacking out, and when she wakes up, she’s naked in an empty rock field.

Lost and alone, Charley finds no sign of other people until she meets Thad, the gorgeous leader of a clan of teenage refugees. Soon Charley learns that leaving the island is harder than she thought . . . and so is falling in love. With Thad’s time running out, Charley realizes that to save their future, Charley must first save him.  And on an island rife with hidden dangers, their greatest threat is time. 

(From publisher.)

yolo

yolo
Lauren Myracle
Fiction M996y

It's freshman year of college for the winsome threesome, and boy is there a lot to learn! 

First lesson: Expect the unexpected. College looks nothing like how they imagined it. Bubbly Angela (SnowAngel) dives headfirst into sorority life. but faced with mean girls and hazing, she starts to wonder whether she's a Greek girl after all. By choosing Santa Cruz, Maddie (mad maddie) got as far away from the Greek scene -- and from Georgia -- as she could. She's finally surrounded by like-minded people, so why does she feel so lost? Zoe (zoegirl), on the other hand, is comfortably close to high school boyfriend Doug -- they're both at Ohio colleges. Keeping up a relationship at such a short distance should be a breeze. So why does it feel as difficult as her microbiology class? In the face of all these surprises, what are the best friends to do? Make the most of every crazy moment, that's what. You only go to college once, after all.

Using of-the-moment technology, Lauren Myracle brings her beloved series into the brave new world of texting and tweets.


(From publisher.)

Chloe by Design: Making the Cut

Chloe by Design: Making the Cut
Margaret Gurevich; Illustrated by Brooke Hagel
Fiction G96c

16-year-old Chloe has always loved everything to do with fashion. Clothes, accessories, styling, designing she knows it all. And when she finds out a new reality series for aspiring teenage designers is holding auditions in her town, she's desperate to win a spot on the show. Chloe knows this is her chance to finally get her designs noticed. But before Chloe can realize her dreams, she has to survive the competition.

(From publisher.)

Conversion

Conversion
Katherine Howe
Fiction H838c

 It’s senior year at St. Joan’s Academy, and school is a pressure cooker. College applications, the battle for valedictorian, deciphering boys’ texts: Through it all, Colleen Rowley and her friends are expected to keep it together. Until they can’t.

First it’s the school’s queen bee, Clara Rutherford, who suddenly falls into uncontrollable tics in the middle of class. Her mystery illness quickly spreads to her closest clique of friends, then more students and symptoms follow: seizures, hair loss, violent coughing fits. St. Joan’s buzzes with rumor; rumor blossoms into full-blown panic.

Soon the media descends on Danvers, Massachusetts, as everyone scrambles to find something, or someone, to blame. Pollution? Stress? Or are the girls faking? Only Colleen—who’s been reading The Crucible for extra credit—comes to realize what nobody else has: Danvers was once Salem Village, where another group of girls suffered from a similarly bizarre epidemic three centuries ago . . .

Inspired by true events—from seventeenth-century colonial life to the halls of a modern-day high school—Conversion casts a spell. With her signature wit and passion, New York Times bestselling author Katherine Howe delivers an exciting and suspenseful novel, a chilling mystery that raises the question, what’s really happening to the girls at St. Joan’s?

(From publisher.)